Halal Food: Why Both Muslims and Non-Muslims Prefer It

Halal Food: Why Both Muslims and Non-Muslims Prefer It

The religion we follow plays a big role in determining what we consume. Since our dietary choices are governed by the religion we follow, it is important for us to have a thorough understanding of it. If you follow a particular religion and have been forbidden from consuming a particular type of food item, you must try to know the reason behind it. 

Like every other religion, Islam has a certain set of belief systems that people following it adheres to. Their lifestyle choices are dictated by their religious beliefs. Those who follow Islam as a religion prefer consuming Halal food. Halal excludes all those food items that Islam forbids or doesn’t approve of. 

Halal roughly translates to ‘permissible’ in Arabic. That gives people a clear idea of what it actually means. As long as a food item doesn’t contain any ingredient or element that has been forbidden by Islamic law, it can be considered to be Halal food. Islamic law also specifies the ways in which Halal food ought to be produced, processed, washed and stored. When a packaged food item is sold as halal food, the certification body’s name should also be mentioned there. 

A restaurant, which specializes in Halal food, has to keep these things in mind. The machinery that one can use to produce or prepare Halal food has also been specified in Islamic law. If you have spent a lot of time typing ‘halal food near me’ on your phone and going through multiple websites and web pages, you should stop doing that right away. Just visit and you will find several reputed Halal restaurants in your vicinity. 

What Is Non-Halal Food?

If you are a non-Muslim and planning to try Halal food, you should first try and get a good understanding of what constitutes non-Halal food. Alcohol and intoxicant drinks are strictly forbidden in Islam. Muslims are also forbidden from consuming carnivorous animals in any form. Any food item that has a tallow or enzyme presence is considered to be non-Halal. Lipase, lard, pork and non-specific meat broth are some of the other food items that Islamic law doesn’t approve of. Shellfish like oysters, lobster and mussels, too, are not allowed. 

Why a Large Number of People Prefer Halal Food?

It has been found that not just Muslims but people of other faiths, too, prefer consuming Halal meat. This trend has been observed in most countries. Animals, who are slaughtered using a particular method prescribed in Islamic law, feel a lesser amount of pain. A halal animal is provided a diet comprising grass and vegetarian food. The meat of such animals, therefore, is rich in omega-3 fat, vitamins and antioxidants that are beneficial for one’s health.

Halal meat is known to be blood-free. This is the reason why its taste is more appealing than other meat. Blood has a lactic acid presence which affects the taste of the meat. Halal food is devoid of bacteria, antibiotics, preservatives, growth hormones and other elements that could adversely affect one’s brain. Despite having so many wonderful qualities, Halal meat is cheaper than most other kinds of meat. 


Share this post

About the author